Zweigelt Langenlois 2019
In 1922 the Austrian vine-cultivator Friedrich Zweigelt created the variety by a crossing two idigenous varieties: Blaufränkisch and St. Laurent. We are fortunate that some of the oldest Zweigelt vines are still growing in Langenlois, where the variety was already successfully cultivated early on. 45-year-old vines are the foundation of our Zweigelt Reserve. They grow in the northwest of the Kittmannsberg site, on a very gravely Löss soil.
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in mid October. Destemmed. Fermented on the skin in small open fermenters for 2 weeks. Slowly and gently pressed off. Final fermentation in small oak barrels. Spontaneous malolactic fermentation. Matured on the lees in barrel for 16 months. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in April 2021.
Wine description
Beautiful cherry fruit, plums, some pomegranate, also black cumin and fennel seeds; smooth and juicy on the palate, rich in extract, cherries, fine wood spice, delicate tannins, red berries in the core, long finish.
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
13 years +
Serving temperature
slightly chilled, approx. 18°C

Zweigelt Reserve 2019
1922 kreuzte der österreichische Rebzüchter Friedrich Zweigelt die zwei autochtonen Sorten Blaufränkisch und St. Laurent. Aus seiner langjährigen Arbeit ging schließlich der Rotburger hervor, besser bekannt als Zweigelt. Ein paar der ältesten Reben finden sich heute in Langenlois, wo die Sorte schon sehr früh erfolgreich kultiviert wurde. 45 Jahre alte Weinstöcke bilden die Grundlage unserer Zweigelt Reserve. Sie wachsen nordwestlich der Lage Kittmannsberg, auf einem sehr schottrigen Lössboden.
Wenn du diesen Wein erwerben möchtest, kontaktiere uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Mitte Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Für 2 Wochen offen auf den Schalen vergoren. Langsam und schonend abgepresst. Endgärung in kleinen Eichenfässern. Spontaner biologischer Säureabbau. 16 Monate im Fass auf der Feinhefe gereift. Abgefüllt im April 2021, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Wunderbare Kirschfrucht, Zwetschgen, etwas Granatapfel, auch Schwarzkümmel und Fenchelsaat; am Gaumen rund und saftig, angenehme Fruchtsüße, Herzkirschen, feine Holzwürze, zarte Tannine, rotbeeriger Fruchtkern, klingt lange nach.
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
13 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
leicht gekühlt, ca. 18°C