Vintage:
Weissburgunder Maximum 2018
We have a long tradition with Weissburgunder (Pinot Blanc). Dr. Bruno Hiedler was the first winemaker to plant the variety in the Danube region in 1955. A time when small grapes were anything but 'en vogue'. The grapes for our Maximum are sourced from exactly this historic vineyard, with interesting & old vine genetics. The old vines grow at the foot of the Schenkenbichl slope, on river gravel which in places is criss-crossed with light, lime-rich loess. Before bottling, it matures for two full winters in large acacia casks on the lees. This is how this dense and elegant Weissburgunder is created, with the unmistakable Hiedler signature.
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
65 year old vines. Selective harvest by hand in early October. Destemmed and crushed. Without sulphurisation of the juice. Gently pressed with low pressure. Fermentation in a big acacaia cask, with cultured Kamptal yeast. Matured in cask on the lees for over two winters. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in May 2020.
Wine description
Pure fruit in the nose, lime, mandarins, biscuit, the finest nut cream, great minerality; complex on the palate, creamy, mouth-filling, hazelnuts, caramel, orange biscuit, delicate roasted aromas, imbued with incredible elegance, beautiful length; great aging potential!
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
20 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 12°C
Ratings
94

Jahrgang:
Weißburgunder Maximum 2018
Weißburgunder hat bei uns lange Tradition. Dr. Bruno Hiedler war der erste Winzer, der die Sorte 1955 im Donauraum auspflanzte. Eine Zeit, in der kleine Trauben alles andere als 'en vogue' waren. Von genau diesem geschichtsträchtigem Weingarten, mit interessanter & alter Rebgenetik, stammt unser Maximum. Der uralte Rebbestand steht am Fuße der Lage Schenkenbichl, wo die Weinstöcke auf dem Flussschotter des abgewanderten Loisbachtals, der stellenweise von hellem, kalkreichem Löss durchzogen ist, gedeihen. Vor seiner Füllung reift er zwei volle Winter im großen Akazienfass auf der Feinhefe. So entsteht dieser dichte und elegante Weißburgunder, mit unverkennbarer Hiedler-Signatur.
Wenn Sie diesen Wein beziehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
65 Jahre alte Rebstöcke. Nach mehrfacher Selektion Anfang Oktober von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt und angequetscht. Keine Mostschwefelung. Sanfte Pressung mit geringem Druck. Im großen Akazienfass vergoren, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. Zwei Winter Fassreife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im Mai 2020, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Schon in der Nase Fruchtfülle pur, Limonen, Mandarinen, Biskuit, feinste Nusscreme, tolle Mineralik; komplex am Gaumen, sämig, mundfüllend, Haselnüsse, Karamell, Orangenbiskuit, zarte Röstaromen, von unglaublicher Eleganz durchdrungen, tolle Länge; großes Reifepotenzial!
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
20 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 12°C
Bewertungen
94