Vintage:
Riesling Ried Heiligenstein 2020
A vineyard that characterizes our Kamptal landscape like no other and is one of the most famed and outstanding crus in Austria. The Heiligenstein is a unique geological formation within Europe; a geological island. The old vines grow on a complex sedimentary soil structure, on sandstone conglomerate with red arkoses and volcanic quartz porphyries. This 280 million year old Permian soil is unique and has remained unchanged through the history of the earth. 60-year-old vines, planted on narrow terraces, yield a highly complex Riesling with a strong personality and a delicately spicy mineral expression.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
THE NEW VINTAGE WILL BE RELEASED IN AUTUMN 2022
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
This product is currently sold out.
Vinification
The beautifully ripe grapes were selectively harvested by hand in late October and slightly crushed. After some hours of maceration they were gently pressed off with low pressure. Fermented in stainless-steel and matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in September 2021.
Wine description
Beguiling and compex scent of bright yellow grapefruit, lots of apricot, plus pineapple, lavender and turmeric. Finely concentrated and focused on the palate, an essence of apricots and physalis, even a little bit exotic, rich and incredibly juicy, the elegant oriental-smoky note in the background, pure Heiligenstein minerality! Great aging potential!
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
Optimum drinking age: 2022-2036
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 10°C

Jahrgang:
Riesling Ried Heiligenstein 2020
Ein Weinberg, der wie kein anderer unser Kamptaler Landschaftsbild prägt und zu den bekanntesten und herausragendsten Lagen Österreichs zählt. Der Heiligenstein ist eine einzigartige geologische Formation innerhalb Europas; eine geologische Insel. Die Reben wurzeln hier in einem Sedimentkomplex aus Sandsteinkonglomerat mit Einschlüssen roter Arkosen und vulkanischer Quarzporphyre. Dieser 280 Millionen Jahre alte Permboden ist einzigartig und, durch die Geschicke der Erdgeschichte, unverändert erhalten geblieben. 60 Jahre alte Rebstöcke, gepflanzt auf schmalen Terassen, lassen einen hochkomplexen Riesling mit starker Persönlichkeit und einem feinwürzigem, mineralischem Ausdruck heranreifen.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn du diesen Wein erwerben möchtest, kontaktiere uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die vollreifen Trauben wurden Ende Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im Stahltank, danach mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im September 2021, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Betörender und komplexer Duft nach gelben Grapefruits, reifen Marillen, dazu Ananas, Lavendel und Kurkuma. Am Gaumen fein konzentriert und fokussiert, eine Essenz aus Marillen und Physalis, fast etwas exotisch, extraktsüß und unglaublich saftig, die elegante orientalisch-rauchige Note schwingt mit, Heiligenstein-Mineralik pur! Grandioses Reifepotenzial!
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
Optimale Trinkreife: 2022-2036
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca.10°C