Vintage:
Pinot Noir Käferberg Reserve 2017
The grapes for our Reserve thrive on a terrace on the southeastern flank of the Käferberg vineyard. Within a small area one can find crystalline rocks alternating with much younger clay marl, sandy loess, and rare gravels that were deposited in the ancient Paratethys sea millions of years ago. A particularly high planting density and the strict yield reduction result in small-berried and concentrated grapes. The berries ferment in small, open tanks. The young wine later matures on the fine lees in oak barrels for at least two more years. The result is characterized by cool fruity elegance and calm power, which ends in spicy minerality.
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in mid-September. Destemmed. Without sulphurisation of the mash. Open fermentation in small batches with a small percentage of whole grapes. Pressed off over several hours after 2 weeks on the skins. Spontaneous malolactic fermentation. Matured in Barrique for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2019.
Wine description
A concentrated and lively Pinot Noir, fine and calm scent of raspberries, brings forward the chalky soil it has grown on, rose hips and sloeberries, subtle woody spice shines through from the background, a subtle hint of vanilla; prances on the tongue, cool notes, red berry fruit remains, some forest berries and a hint of juicy oak, the fine herbal spice of the Kamptal in the long finish, salted fruit, great potential.
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
15 years +
Serving temperature
Slightly chilled, 17°C.
Give some air.

Jahrgang:
Pinot Noir Käferberg Reserve 2017
Die Trauben für unsere Reserve gedeihen auf einer Terrasse an der Südostflanke des Langenloiser Käferbergs. Auf engem Raum wechseln hier alte, kristalline Gesteinsbruchstücke, mit jungem Tonmergel, sandigem Löss und seltenen Kiesen, die vor vielen Millonen Jahren im Meer der Paratethys abgelagert wurden. Eine besonders hohe Pflanzdichte und strikte Ertragsreduktion lassen hier kleinbeerige und wunderbar konzentrierte Trauben heranwachsen. Die Beeren vergären in kleinen, offenen Gärbehältern, ehe der junge Wein für mindestens zwei weitere Jahre in Eichenfässern auf der Feinhefe reift. Das Resultat ist von kühler Eleganz und ruhig strömender Frucht geprägt, die in würziger Mineralität ausklingt.
Wenn Sie diesen Wein beziehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die reifen Trauben wurden Mitte September selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller schonend abgebeert. Nach mehrwöchiger Vergärung wurden die Beeren mit geringem Druck abgepresst. Endgärung und zweijährige Reife in kleinen Eichenfässern auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im August 2019, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Ein konzentrierter und lebhafter Pinot Noir, feine und ruhige Himbeerfrucht, bringt den kalkigen Boden klar zur Geltung, Hagebutten und Schlehen, dahinter kommt die dezente holzgeprägte Würze ins Spiel, ein Hauch Vanille; tänzelt auf der Zunge, kühle Noten, bleibt rotbeerig und engmaschig, etwas Waldbeeren und zartes, saftiges Eichenholz, die feine Kamptaler Kräuterwürze im langen Nachhall, salzfruchtig, großes Potenzial.
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
15 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Leicht gekühlt, 17°C.
Etwas belüften.