Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Thal 2019
Thal has a special value to us. It is inextricably linked to the history of our estate. It is our oldest and most traditional vineyard, where our family cultivated their first vines in 1856. The up to 80-year-old vines grow on a broadly terraced slope in the south of Langenlois, composed of quartz-sand and bright, calcerous loess. With delicate white and yellow fruit, cool spice and it's characteristic sandy minerality, the wine expresses the bright side of Gruener Veltliner.
[Ried = Austrian term for a single vineyard, it has the same meaning as "Lage"]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Up to 80 years old vines. The grapes were selectively harvested by hand at the end of September and in early October. They were slightly crushed and macerated for some hours before we gently pressed them off with low pressure. Fermented in stainless-steel and matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2020.
Wine description
Bright and chalky nose, floral, white tropical fuits, a bit of yellow apple, backed by fine nuances of herbs. Compact, fine extract, good acidity, apricots, quince, bright minerality. Great food companion!
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
10 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
92
93
93

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Thal 2019
Für uns ist Thal eine Lage von ganz besonderer Bedeutung. Sie ist untrennbar mit der Geschichte des Weinguts verbunden, denn hier kultivierte unsere Familie 1856 ihre ersten Weingärten. Diese Geländekante, mit ihren mächtigen Lössterrassen, wölbt sich südlich von Langenlois auf. Bis zu 80 Jahre alte Reben wachsen hier auf hellem, kalkreichem Löss und Quarzsand. Weiße Frucht und zarte Veltlinerwürze kommen in dieser Lage zum Ausdruck, hinterlegt mit einer charakteristischen sandigen Mineralik.
[Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn Sie diesen Wein beziehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Ende September und Anfang Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im Stahltank, danach mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im Juni 2020, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Zart floral unterlegte frische Tropenfrucht, ein Hauch von Birnen, mit feinen Kräuternuancen unterlegt, Baumblüten. Stoffig, feine Fruchtsüße, dezente Säurestruktur, Marillen im Abgang, etwas Honig im Nachhall, kompakt, zum Beißen.
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
10 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
92
93
93