Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2017
This Veltliner is sourced from two terraces that sit at the upper limit of the Schenkenbichl vineyard, on about 315 m above sea level. The 60 years old vines grow on amphibolite bedrock, overlain by just a slim layer of topsoil. This becomes noticable in the wine in form of focused fruit, fine spice and a salty mineral character.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in mid-October. Destemmed. Without sulphurisation of the grape must or juice. Fermented in acacia casks with cultivated local yeast. Partial spontaneous malolactic fermentation. Matured for several months in cask on the lees. Bottled unfiltered in August 2018.
Wine description
Seductive bouquet, musk melons, stonefruits, hazelnuts, backed by subtle notes of chokeberries and some Havannas; silky and smooth flow, vigorous socket, at the same time finely contured, concentrated fruit, packed with a lot of elegance and a long lasting finish. - Vinaria 2018/19
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
13 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
94
94
92
93

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2017
Die Trauben dieses Veltliners stammen von den höchst gelegenen Terrassen der Lage Schenkenbichl, gewachsen auf auf rund 315 m  Seehöhe. Unsere 60 Jahre alten Rebstöcke wurzeln hier auf einem metamorphen Gesteinspaket, das überwiegend aus dunklem Amphibolit besteht. Im Wein zeigt sich der Einfluss der kargen Lage. Sie lässt kühle, elegante Weine mit würzig-mineralischer Salzigkeit heranreifen.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Mitte Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Keine Maische- bzw. Mostschwefelung. Gärung im großen Akazienfass mit kultivierter Kamptaler Hefe. Teilweise spontaner biologischer Säureabbau. Mehrmonatige Reifung im Fass auf der Feinhefe. Unfiltriert gefüllt im August 2018.
Weinbeschreibung
Attraktive Nase, Zuckermelonen, Kernobst, Haselnüsse, untersetzt von feinherben Tönen nach Havannas und Aroniabeeren; cremig-geschmeidiger Trinkfluss, kraftvoller Sockel, zugleich fein gemeißelt, mit fokussierter Frucht, viel Eleganz und langem Ausklang. - Vinaria 2018/19
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
13 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
94
94
92
93