Grüner Veltliner Ried Käferberg 2020
The Käferberg is certainly one of the best crus that the Kamptal has to offer for Veltliner and Burgundian varieties. Within a small area one can find crystalline rocks alternating with with clayey sea sediments (clay marl) and rare gravels that were deposited in the ancient Paratethys sea millions of years ago and lie directly on the rock of the Bohemian geological formation. Our vines grow at around 345 m above sea level, on two terraces on the south-east flank of the site, where some loess has also been deposited over the past millennia. All of this results in a wine with exceptional density and concentration, whose salty freshness forms an exciting contrast.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
The grapes were selectively harvested by hand in mid-October and slightly crushed. After some hours of maceration they were gently pressed off with low pressure. Fermented in small oak barrels with some spontaneous malolactic fermentation. Matured for 16 months in barrel on the lees. Bottled unfiltered at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in April 2022.
Wine description
Expressive and deep nose that spans a wide arc: ranges from black bread and roasted walnuts to cherry plums, plus quinces and Williams pears, thyme is also involved; dense and aromatic on the palate, rich in extract but never opulent, packed with yellow fruits, loquat, some barrel spice, Burgundian vibe, everything backed by salty notes, of dancing elegance, super-long finish!
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
Best to drink: 2025-2040
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C

Grüner Veltliner Ried Käferberg 2020
Seine einzigartige Geologie und Höhenlage machen den Langenloiser Käferberg zu einer der herausragendsten Veltliner-Rieden des Kamptals. Auf engem Raum wechseln hier alte, kristalline Felsbruchstücke, mit tonigen Meeressedimenten (Tonmergel) und seltenen Kiesen, die vor vielen Millionen Jahren im Meer der Paratethys abgelagert wurden und direkt auf dem Gestein der böhmischen Masse liegen. Unsere Reben wachsen auf rund 345 m Seehöhe, auf zwei Terrassen an der Südostflanke der Lage, wo sich über die vergangenen Jahrtausende auch etwas Löss abgelagert hat. So erreicht der Veltliner am Käferberg eine außergewöhnliche Dichte und Konzentration. Die dazu kommende salzig-mineralische Frische, bildet einen spannenden Kontrast.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn du diesen Wein erwerben möchtest, kontaktiere uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Mitte Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte in kleinen Eichenfässern. Teilweise spontaner biologischer Säureabbau. 16 Monate im Fass auf der Feinhefe gereift. Unfiltriert abgefüllt im April 2022, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Expressive und tiefgehende Nase, die einen weiten Bogen spannt: reicht über Schwarzbrot und geröstete Walnüsse bis zu Kirschpflaumen, dazu Quitten und Williams Birnen, auch Thymian ist im Spiel; engmaschige Fortsetzung am Gaumen, extraktreich aber nie opulent, vollgepackt mit gelber Frucht, Mispeln, helle holzgeprägte Würze, quasi burgundisch geprägt, dahinter salzige Noten, von tänzelnder Eleganz, langer Abgang!
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
Optimale Trinkreife: 2025-2040
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C