Vintage:
Riesling Ried Steinhaus 2019
Steinhaus, literally Stonehouse, is the steepest vineyard in Langenlois. It probably takes its name from the ancient stone shelters, whose remains can be found scattered in the vineyards. The barren slope is characterized by small terraces, which were partly carved into the crystalline rock centuries ago. The vines have to dig deep to find access to water. They grow on a rocky soil formed of gneiss and amphibolite, traversed by quartz. The location produces a unique, elegantly fruity type of Riesling that expresses a very cool and saline minerality.
[Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]

 
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
The grapes were selectively harvested by hand at the end of October and slightly crushed. After some hours of maceration they were gently pressed off with low pressure. Fermented in stainless-steel and matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2020.
Wine description
Beautiful scent of limes and peaches, some lilac, with air also white tropical fruit joins the mix, the cool nose is finely nuanced and highly mineral; on the palate the fruit character is bundeled, peach, apple, also lemongrass and mint, a hint of smoky spice in the background, lively acidity, crystalline texture, pure minerality. Fantastic aging potential!
Alcohol
13 % vol
Ageing potential
Optimum drinking age: 2021-2035
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx 10°C
Ratings
95
94
95
95
93

Jahrgang:
Riesling Ried Steinhaus 2019
Steinhaus, so nennt sich die steilste Lage in Langenlois. Sie hat ihren Namen vermutlich von den uralten Trockenstein-Häuschen, die als Unterstände dienten und deren Überreste man verstreut in den Weingärten findet. Der karge Hang ist geprägt von kleinen Terrassen, die teils vor Jahrhunderten in das brüchige Gestein geschlagen wurden. Hier müssen die Reben tief schürfen, um zu überleben. Sie wachsen auf einem felsigen Untergrund aus Gneis und Amphibolit, der von Quarz- und Feldspat-Adern durchzogen ist. Die Lage bringt einen einzigartigen und feinfruchtigen Riesling-Typ mit besonders kühler und salziger Mineralik hervor.
[Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn Sie diesen Wein beziehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Ende Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im Stahltank, danach mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im August 2020, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Glockenklares Duftspiel von Limetten und Weingartenpfirsich, etwas Flieder, mit Luft gesellt sich auch weiße Tropenfrucht dazu, die kühle Nase ist fein nuanciert und hoch mineralisch; am Gaumen die gebündelte Fruchtausprägung, Pfirsich, Apfel, dazu Zitronengras und Minze, ein Hauch rauchige Würze schwingt hintergründig mit, lebendige Säure, kristalline Textur, pur und von Mineralität durchdrungen. Fantastisches Reifepotenzial!
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol
Reifepotential
Optimale Trinkreife: 2021-2035
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 10°C
Bewertungen
95
94
95
95
93