Riesling Steinhaus Cabinet 2010
This delicately sweet wine comes from the narrow terraces of our steepest vineyard, the Steinhaus. Exposed to the cooling westerly winds, the vines grow on a barren and rocky soil of gneiss and amphibolite. Both conditions that favor a slow aromatic maturation of the grapes. The cool and challenging 2010 vintage, which is now considered a real insider tip among wine enthusiasts, allowed for the vinification of wines of exceptional longevity and finesse, including this Riesling, which was selectively harvested by hand in November. For 12 years, this wine has been maturing quietly and without movement in our cellar archive. We are pleased to be able to offer you a part of this ready-to-drink wine!
[In the Middle Ages, special wines were kept in the monastery's wine treasury - the cabinet.]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Limited! Order a maximum of 3 bottles.
Prices include VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
The grapes were selectively harvested by hand in early Ocotber and slightly crushed. After some hours of maceration they were gently pressed off with low pressure. Fermented in stainless-steel and matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2011.
Wine description
Off dry. Beautiful ripe Riesling scent, smells of ripe yellow fruits, smoky and flinty; a full fruit basket on the palate, carried by aromas of juicy peaches and and sweet grapes, crystal-clear, fruit-sweet structure, velvety and long finish!
Alcohol
11,0 % vol.
Ageing potential
Chilled, approx. 11°C

Riesling Steinhaus Cabinet 2010
Dieser fruchtsüße Wein stammt von den schmalen Terrassen unserer steilsten Lage, der Ried Steinhaus. Den kühlenden Westwinden ausgesetzt wachsen die Reben hier auf einem kargen und felsigen Untergrund aus Gneis und Amphibolit. Beides Voraussetzungen, die eine langsame aromatische Reife begünstigen. Der kühle und herausfordernde Jahrgang 2010, der unter Weinenthusiasten mittlerweile als echter Geheimtipp gilt, bescherte uns Weine von außergewöhnlicher Langlebigkeit und Finesse, so auch diesen Riesling, der im November selektiv von Hand gelesen wurde. Seit 12 Jahren reift dieser Wein ruhig und unbewegt in unserem Kellerarchiv. Wir freuen uns euch einen Teil dieses trinkreifen Weines anbieten zu können!
[Im Mittelalter wurden besondere Tropfen in der klösterlichen Weinschatzkammer - dem Cabinet - aufbewahrt.]
Wenn du diesen Wein erwerben möchtest, kontaktiere uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Limitiert! Maximal 3 Flaschen.
Alle Preise inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Anfang November selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im Stahltank, danach mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im August 2011 bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Fruchtsüß/Halbtrocken. Wunderbar reife Riesling Nase, duftet nach reifen gelben Früchten, rauchig, Feuerstein; am Gaumen ein voller Fruchtkorb, saftiger Pfirsich, süße Weintrauben, glasklare, fruchtsüße Struktur, seidiger und lang anhaltender Abgang!
Alkoholgehalt
11,0 % vol.
Reifepotential
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C