Grüner Veltliner Ried Thal 2021
Thal has a special value to us. It is inextricably linked to the history of our estate. It is our oldest and most traditional vineyard, where our family cultivated their first vines in 1856. The up to 80-year-old vines grow on a broadly terraced slope in the south of Langenlois, composed of quartz-sand and bright, calcerous loess. With delicate white and yellow fruit, cool spice and it's characteristic sandy minerality, the wine expresses the bright side of Gruener Veltliner.
[Ried = Austrian term for a single vineyard, it has the same meaning as "Lage"]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Up to 80 years old vines. The grapes were selectively harvested by hand in various parts in the first half of October. Destemmed, slightly crushed and macerated for several hours. Gently pressed with low pressure. Fermented in stainless-steel and matured on the lees for several months. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in May 2022.
Wine description
Attractive scent of honeydew melons, green mangoes, white flowers, also showing some cool and spicy aspects, pink pepper berries; wonderful fruit on the palate, apple and pineapple, textured with sandy-calcareous minerality, a hint of sage tea, great substance with finely integrated acidity, long and yellow-fruity finish.
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
12 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C

Grüner Veltliner Ried Thal 2021
Für uns ist Thal eine Lage von ganz besonderer Bedeutung. Sie ist untrennbar mit der Geschichte des Weinguts verbunden, denn hier kultivierte unsere Familie 1856 ihre ersten Weingärten. Diese Geländekante, mit ihren mächtigen Lössterrassen, wölbt sich südlich von Langenlois auf. Bis zu 80 Jahre alte Reben wachsen hier auf hellem, kalkreichem Löss und Quarzsand. Weiße Frucht und zarte Veltlinerwürze kommen in dieser Lage zum Ausdruck, hinterlegt mit einer charakteristischen sandigen Mineralik.
[Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn du diesen Wein erwerben möchtest, kontaktiere uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Bis zu 80 Jahre alte Reben. Die Trauben wurden in der ersten Oktoberhälfte selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im Stahltank, danach mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im Mai 2022, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Verführerischer Duft nach Honigmelonen, grüne Mangos, weiße Blüten, gleichzeitig kühlwürzig, rosa Pfefferbeeren; am Gaumen ein wunderbares Fruchtspiel, Apfel und Ananas, griffig mit sandig-kalkiger Mineralität, ein Hauch Salbeitee, tolle Substanz mit fein integrierter Säure, langer und gelbfruchtiger Ausklang.
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
12 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C