Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2019
The grapes of this Veltliner come from the highest elevated terraces of the Schenkenbichl vineyard, grown at about 315 m above sea level. Here, our 60-year-old vines are rooted deep in the brittle, metamorphic rock soil, which is formed of the remains of an ancient mountain range. It predominantly consists of dark amphibolite, reaching to the surface. The influence of those rocks is reflected in the wines, which are cool and elegant with a spicy-mineral saltiness to them.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
The grapes were selectively harvested by hand at the end of September and slightly crushed. After some hours of maceration they were gently pressed off with low pressure. Fermented in acacia cask and matured for several months in cask on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2020.
Wine description
Smoky and rocky nose, chamomile, some dried rosemary, then comes bright fruit, pink grapefruit, with fresh pineapple slices and ripe quince, floral nuances in the background; dark-spicy palate, again chamomile and pink grapefruit, physalis, also black tea, firm body, mineral-driven powerhouse, ends with a long and saline finish. Great aging potential!
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
Best to drink: 2022-2035
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
94
95
94
94
94

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2019
Die Trauben dieses Veltliners stammen von den höchst gelegenen Terrassen der Lage Schenkenbichl, gewachsen auf rund 315 m Seehöhe. Es sind 60 Jahre alte Rebstöcke, die hier tief im kristallinen Gesteinspaket verwurzelt sind. Die Lage ist das Relikt eines uralten Gebirges, an dessen Stelle die dunklen Amphibolite bis an die Oberfläche treten. Im Wein spürt man den Einfluss des kargen Urgestein-Bodens sehr deutlich. Er lässt kühle, elegante Weine mit würzig-mineralischer Salzigkeit heranreifen.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn Sie diesen Wein beziehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Ende September selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im großen Akazienfass, danach mehrmonatige Reife im Fass auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im August 2020, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Rauchige und gesteinsmehlige Nase, Kamille, etwas getrockneter Rosmarin, Pistazien, dann rosa Grapefruit, etwas frische Ananasscheiben und reife Quitten im Hintergrund; dunkelwürziger Gaumen, wieder Kamille und rosa Grapefruit, auch schwarzer Tee, fester Körper, ein mineralisch getriebenes Kraftpaket, klingt lang und salz-fruchtig aus. Großes Reifepotenzial!
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
Optimale Trinkreife: 2022-2035
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
94
95
94
94
94