Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Kittmannsberg 2019
Kittmannsberg is part of a distinctive plateau, which rises in the west of Langenlois and reaches up to 345 m above sea level. It has a characteristic bowl-shaped topographic depression in which an autonomous microclimate is formed, favouring long ripening periods and thus a late harvest. Here we find traces of a past, shallow sea. The mineral-rich soil is formed of calcerous clays, loess and loam. The cru lends this Veltliner an expression of yellow fruits, a delicate herbal spiciness and a silky-mineral texture.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
The grapes were selectively harvested by hand in early October and slightly crushed. After some hours of maceration they were gently pressed off with low pressure. Fermented in acacia cask and matured for several months in cask on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2020.
Wine description
Yellow fruit character, lots of mirabelle plums, ripe pears, pineapple, also some exotic fruit, a good portion of black pepper blends in perfectly, also nuances of herbal spice in the background, a hint of honey; Ripe and creamy fruit aromas on the palate, playful, the tropical nuances repeat, great balance of sweetness and acidity, smooth texture, yellow fruits in the beautiful aftertaste.
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
Optimum drinking age: 2021-2033
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
94
94
93
94
93

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Kittmannsberg 2019
Der Kittmannsberg ist Teil eines markanten Hochplateaus, das sich westlich von Langenlois erhebt und bis auf 345 m Seehöhe reicht. In seiner charakteristischen, kesselförmigen Einbuchtung, bildet sich ein eigenständiges Mikroklima, das lange Reifeperioden begünstigt. Im Boden finden sich die Spuren eines vergangenen, flachen Meeres. Der tiefgründige Untergrund ist aus kalkigen Tonen und Lösslehm aufgebaut. Hier entwickelt unser Veltliner einen reifen und gelben Fruchtausdruck, zarte Kräuterwürze und eine seidig-mineralische Textur.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn Sie diesen Wein beziehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Anfang Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen und anschließend im Keller leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Die Vergärung erfolgte im großen Akazienfass, danach mehrmonatige Reife im Fass auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im August 2020, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Gelbe Fruchtfülle in der Nase, viel Mirabelle, reife Birnen, Ananas, auch exotische Anklänge, eine gute Portion schwarzer Pfeffer mischt sich ins Geschehen, auch zarte Kräuterwürze im Hintergrund, ein Hauch Honig; reife und cremige Fruchtaromatik am Gaumen, feiner Schmelz, verspielt, wieder tropische Nuancen, tolle Balance aus Süße und Säure, geschmeidige Löss-geprägte Textur, klingt wunderbar gelbfruchtig aus.
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
Optimale Trinkreife: 2021-2033
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
94
94
93
94
93