Grüner Veltliner Käferberg Magnum 2021
The Käferberg is one of the most significant crus in Kamptal. Within a small area one can find crystalline rocks alternating with with clayey sea sediments (clay marl) and rare gravels that were deposited in the ancient Paratethys sea millions of years ago and are stacked on top of the rocks of the Bohemian geological formation. Our vines grow at around 340 m above sea level, on two terraces on the southeast flank of the site, where some loess has also been deposited over the past millennia. On this soil, the small grapes of these almost 85 years old vines reach exceptional density and concentration. The saline and mineral freshness form an exciting contrast.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
Prices include VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
The grapes were selectively harvested by hand in mid-October. Destemmed, slightly crushed and macerated for several hours. Gently pressed with low pressure. Fermented and matured in 500 Liter oak barrels. 15 months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in Mai 2023.
Wine description
Expressive and deep nose that spans a wide arc: ranges from black bread and roasted walnuts to cherry plums, plus quinces and Williams pears, thyme is also involved; dense and aromatic on the palate, rich in extract but never opulent, packed with yellow fruits, loquat, some barrel spice, Burgundian vibe, everything backed by salty notes, of dancing elegance, super-long finish!
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
Best to drink: 2026-2040
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C

Grüner Veltliner Käferberg Magnum 2021
Seine einzigartige Geologie und Höhenlage machen den Langenloiser Käferberg zu einer der herausragendsten Rieden des Kamptals. Auf engem Raum wechseln hier alte, kristalline Felsbruchstücke, mit tonigen Meeressedimenten (Tonmergel) und seltenen Kiesen, die vor vielen Millionen Jahren im Meer der Paratethys abgelagert wurden und direkt auf dem Gestein der böhmischen Masse liegen. Unsere Reben wachsen auf rund 340 m Seehöhe, auf zwei Terrassen an der Südostflanke der Lage, wo sich über die vergangenen Jahrtausende auch etwas Löss abgelagert hat. Die kleinen Trauben der in den 1940er-Jahren gepflanzten Rebstöcke erreichen auf diesem Boden eine außergewöhnliche Dichte und Konzentration. Die dazu kommende salzig-mineralische Frische bildet den markanten und spannenden Kontrast.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Wenn du diesen Wein erwerben möchtest, kontaktiere uns oder unsere Handelspartner: Bezugsquellen.
Alle Preise inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Die Trauben wurden Mitte Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen, gerebelt und leicht angequetscht. Nach mehrstündiger Maischestandzeit wurde schonend, mit geringem Druck, abgepresst. Vergoren und gereift in 500 Liter Eichenfässern. 15 Monate auf der Hefe. Abgefüllt im Mai 2023, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Expressive und tiefgehende Nase, die einen weiten Bogen spannt: reicht über Schwarzbrot und geröstete Walnüsse bis zu Kirschpflaumen, dazu Quitten und Williams Birnen, auch Thymian ist im Spiel; engmaschige Fortsetzung am Gaumen, extraktreich aber nie opulent, vollgepackt mit gelber Frucht, Mispeln, helle holzgeprägte Würze, quasi burgundisch geprägt, dahinter salzige Noten, von tänzelnder Eleganz, langer Abgang!
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
Optimale Trinkreife: 2026-2040
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C